Services

Services

All of the services and programs offered by Children’s Service Center fall within what we call an “integrated system of care.” Our services are listed and briefly described below, with the name of the appropriate contact person. They are listed in order of least restrictive services to most restrictive.

Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT): An evidenced-based treatment developed by Marsha Linehan used for effectively treating Borderline Personality Disorder, addictions, mood disorders, and self injurious behaviors. During group sessions, clients are educated and provided with tools to enhance the following skills: core mindfulness, emotion regulation, interpersonal effectiveness and distress tolerance. DBT treatment will involve enhancing clients/families abilities, improving client/parent’s motivation to change, ensuring new-found capabilities are applied to client’s daily life, active parent participation with client during weekly group sessions, and weekly homework assignments to practice and reinforce skills taught in group. Research shows that skills training strengthens a person’s ability to handle stress without losing control or acting destructively.

Student Assistance Program: Mental health professionals work with school staff to provide assessments and short term interventions to youths at risk. Chelsea Nocek, cnocek@e-csc.org

Base Service Unit: All clients entering the CSC integrated system of care receive a full behavioral health assessment by well trained and qualified professionals. This assessment determines the clinical plan: a collaborative approach between the treatment team, the family and youth. Lois Boginski, lboginski@e-csc.org

Blended Case Management: Specially trained staff coordinate psychiatric, financial, legal, and medical services to help a child or adolescent with behavioral health needs live successfully at home and in their community. Sheila Zambetti, szambetti@e-csc.org

Outpatient Services: Behavioral health assessments and treatment services under the clinical direction of a psychiatrist. Denise Namowicz, dnamowicz@e-csc.org

Alcohol and Drug Services: CSC provides drug and alcohol counseling to adolescents and adults. Our specially trained counselors specialize in the unique aspects of teenagers with alcohol and/or drug issues. Denise Namowicz, dnamowicz@e-csc.org

Telepsychiatry Services: CSC uses this interactive audio and visual electronic system to enable a Wilkes-Barre based psychiatrist to work with patients in other service areas. Denise Namowicz, dnamowicz@e-csc.org

Crisis Services: Trained individuals and teams respond to personal crises in the home or community.  Professional in-person assessments, recommendations, consultations with mental health providers and follow-ups are provided as needed. This service is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Summer Krochta, skrochta@e-csc.org

Medication Clinic: Medication assessments by a psychiatrist trained and skilled in child and adolescent behavioral health. Regular medical follow-up of prescribed medication is required. Denise Namowicz, dnamowicz@e-csc.org

Parent-Child Interaction Therapy: Therapists work with children and caregivers to improve listening skills, attention proficiency and behavior. PCIT is an evidence-based program, which means that the therapies involved have been researched extensively and proven to be very effective. Priscilla Zorichak, pzorichak@e-csc.org

Functional Family Therapy: Specially trained staff provide short term family therapy for children and adolescents ages 10 to 18 at risk of, or presenting, a broad range of acting-out behaviors.  FFT is an evidence-based program. Kathi Strish-Lech, klech@e-csc.org

Behavioral Health Rehabilitation Services: Behavioral health services provided in the home, school, or community. The program is based on individual needs determined by psychological assessment. Includes Mobile Therapy, Therapeutic Staff Support and Behavioral Specialists. Carey Mazzoni, cmazzoni@e-csc.org

Autism: Intensive therapy in home, school, and community settings for children and adolescents diagnosed with an Autism Spectrum Disorder, using Applied Behavioral Analysis. Shelley Loughney, sloughney@e-csc.org

Juvenile Sex Offender Program: Serves individuals who have engaged in inappropriate sexual behaviors. Provides intensive psycho-sexual education. Denise Namowicz, dnamowicz@e-csc.org

School Based Behavioral Health: Based on-site in a school, SBBH teams provide a behavioral health home for youths and families, offering therapeutic support in the school, home and community. Flexible and easy to access, SBBH offers individual, family and group therapy, parenting support, case management, crisis management, and school advocacy and consultation. Carolanne Jones-Leco, cjones@e-csc.org

Home Based Intensive Family Therapy: Teams of specialists in family therapy provide intensive home treatment and support to families in crisis. This program is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The emphasis is on preventing out-of-home placement of the child or adolescent. Kimberly Lawall, klawall@e-csc.org

Day Partial Hospitalization Services: Provides intensive treatment up to five days a week by trained mental health staff under the clinical direction of a psychiatrist. The program provides kindergarten through high school education. Denise Astaneh, dastaneh@e-csc.org

Adoption: A continuum of adoption support services for  domestic and international adoptions. The program is affiliated with the Wendy’s Wonderful Kids Program and the State Wide Adoption Network (SWAN). Rebecca Nallon, rnallon@e-csc.org

Residential Services: CSC has two CRR group homes. The Bennet Home, located on the South Franklin Street campus, accommodates males ages 12 to 17 with behavioral health needs. The Nanticoke Group Home serves co-ed adolescents ages 12 to 17 with behavioral health needs. Summer Krochta, skrochta@e-csc.org

Robinson Counseling Center: Children’s Service Center opened a private outpatient practice with a Board Certified Psychiatrist and Licensed Counselors at 334 South Franklin Street in Wilkes-Barre.  The Robinson Counseling Center serves children, adolescents, and adults in individual and group therapy.

The center is named for Dr. J. Franklin Robinson, Medical Director of CSC from 1942 until his death in 1966. Dr. Robinson and Children’s Service Center were pioneers in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry.  The Robinson Counseling Center accepts most insurances. Call 570-301-0935.

News

Parent Child Interaction Therapy

Parent Child Interaction Therapy is an evidence-based treatment that has demonstrated clinical improvements in the behavior of pre-school-aged children. See the following video to learn more about PCIT and the Children’s Service Center. For inquiries or to make an appointment for your child call 570-825-6425.